Ask a person.

Less than a week ago, my husband and I arrived back from our honeymoon. Only a day or two into our 9 day stay in the Coromandel we realised we had no connection with the outside world. No internet at the bach and both of us had run out of data on our phones.

We were aware that the whole idea of going away on honeymoon is to get away from normal life and spend intentional time together as a couple and we were ok with the social isolation, but we weren’t expecting the inconvenience of other things no longer at our fingertips. Things like the weather, a tv guide, recipes.

I know it may sound a bit lame (although I’m also sure you know the feeling of suddenly being without the internet for a decent amount of time) but it came as a bit of a shock at how limited we felt without the internet at our fingertips.

Suddenly, a thought came to me… why don’t I text a family member and ask them to check the weather for us?! Why don’t I text my flatmate what time that TV show’s on?! Why don’t I text my friend for a pikelet recipe?!

What I felt inside as I had this “lightbulb moment” made me stop and think for a second as I realised what I was feeling.

We always Google stuff these days. Every question you could ever thing of can be typed into Google’s search bar and an answer will come back to you. The best bit is, we don’t need to wait for our answers from Google, it’s instant. How natural it has become to ask Google before asking anyone else.

While Google can be extremely helpful at times, I get this icky feeling as I consider,
since when did asking a person become a ‘great second option’?
And how unnatural that really is.

E.

Leave a Reply

