Free ranged eggs

The other day my wife and I went for our first ever big grocery shop.

I went to grab the eggs.
My wife asked me, are those free range eggs?
I replied, nope.

So I looked over at the free range eggs; and as you do, you compare the prices.
I was so shocked at the price of free range eggs at first sight.
And when I figured out that a free range egg more than tripled the cost of a non free range egg; internally I was screaming no f***ing way am I paying that much for eggs.
I immediately felt that free range eggs companies are exploiting marketing schemes by making people pay more money to feel a little bit better about themselves and conscience.

We stood there by the egg aisle giving our reasons why we should or shouldn’t get free range eggs. We didn’t budge from our stance.

In the momentย I remembered a quote,
“In matters of principle, stand firm. In matters of taste, give way.”

I had to decide;
Was this a matter of principle or taste for me?
Was this a big matter or little matter for me?

Maybe this is something good to remember and ask ourselves before we confront, stand and engage with conflicts, disagreements and conflicts.

And when I realised that they are just eggs.
Free range eggs.
Nothing more.
Then I gave way to purchasing free range eggs for our breakfasts.

As a male; with Command as my top theme in Strengthsfinders, a number 8 in the Enneagram and ENTP in Myers Briggs; I have to remind myself giving way/compromising on matters of taste isn’t backing down, but it is showing that I see that my relationship with my wife is more than the price of free range eggs.

In matters of taste;
Do the free range eggs actually taste better?
In honesty I can’t tell the difference,
But through these free range eggs I have begun to understand where my wife is coming from in terms of shopping ethically.

These free range eggs could have turned into an ugly unneeded fight but instead has put things in perspective for me.

W

One thought on “Free ranged eggs

  1. Your journey towards ethical shopping is a form of worship to God as it encourages us to be kaitiaki or good stewards of all God has entrusted us with. Ka pai!! ๐Ÿ˜€โœ”๏ธ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿฝ

    Like

Leave a Reply

